

RULE REMIT: RECEIVED FROM Aotearoa College of Diabetes Nurses Committee

CLAUSE 1: TITLE OF CLAUSE: National Committee

Sub clause 8.1.1 & 8.1.2 currently read:

Membership

- 8.1.1 The National Committee shall consist of no more than eight (8). Seven (7) elected with a wide geographical representation (ideally at least one member from the South Island) PLUS one (1) appointed person.
- 8.1.2. At the first meeting following the Annual General Meeting the Committee shall, from amongst its members, appoint the following officers: Chairperson, Secretary, Treasurer, Publicity and Communications Coordinator.

Amend to read:

- 8.1.1 The National Committee shall consist of no more than eight (8). Seven (7) elected with a wide geo graphical representation (ideally at least one member from the South Island) PLUS where possible two (2) appointed persons will co-chair the college. In alignment with our commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi, the committee shall ideally be co-chaired, with one chairperson being Māori. While co-governance remains a priority, it is acknowledged that this may not always be immediately achievable. In such instances, the committee may operate with a single chair and, where appropriate, co-opt an additional member to maintain the complement of eight members and to support equitable representation. During any period in which the committee is led by a single chair, the committee shall appoint a vice-chair from among its members.
- 8.1.2 At the first meeting following the Annual General Meeting the Committee shall, from amongst its members, appoint the following officers: **Chairpersons (or Chairperson and Vice-chair)**, Secretary, Treasurer, Publications, and **Webmaster**.

Co-Chair model Rationale:

- In alignment with our commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi, the committee shall ideally be cochaired, with one chairperson being Māori.
- As our employment workloads are increasing, a co-chair model would share the considerable chairperson workload between 2 people, possibly enticing nominations for the position.
- To enable succession planning and a smoother transition for a key committee role.
- This remit aligns with the ACDN Annual Plan 2025-2026, under Tino Rangatiratanga develop and transition to a bi-cultural co-chairperson model to actualise Te Tiriti o Waitangi.
- An honoraria shall be paid to the co-chair or vice-chair equal to other committee members' honoraria.